Landmark: United States Logo

Alabama Sports Hall of Fame

2150 Richard Arrington Jr. Boulevard North
Birmingham, Jefferson County, Alabama, 35203

Alabama Sports Hall of Fame
Photo: Melinda Shelton License: CC BY-NC 2.0
The Alabama Sports Hall of Fame is a state-run monument and museum dedicated to preserving and honoring the accomplishments of Alabamians in sports. It was founded in 1967. It is part of the Birmingham-Jefferson Convention Complex.
The ASHOF currently lists over 200 inductees, including five of the top 15 athletes selected as the greatest of the last century by ESPN. Nationally prominent members include Jesse Owens, Hank Aaron, Joe Louis, Willie Mays, Carl Lewis, Chase Riddle, Don Hutson, Shug Jordan and Paul "Bear" Bryant. A complete list can be found on the museum's official website.

The museum has an annual induction banquet each year, where it inducts between six and eight persons who have contributed to the athletic arena in some capacity. At least two of these inductees are in the "old-timer" category, which covers persons before the modern sports era.

Each year also brings a "Distinguished Sportsman" inductee. This is usually an Alabama sportsman, but may instead be a "Distinguished American Sportsman", if voted as such by the Board of Directors. Two notable examples of an American Sportsman would be President George Herbert Walker Bush and Bob Hope.

Alabama Sports Hall of Fame Categories

Other Alabama Sports Hall of Fame Resources

Map of the Area Around
Alabama Sports Hall of Fame

Visit our sister site:
Landmark Earth Logo