Landmark: United States Logo

Ayer Public Library

208 Locust Street
Delavan, Tazewell County, Illinois, 61734

Ayer Public Library
Photo: Ayer Public Library License: Copyright
The Ayer Ayer Public Library was the first tax supported library in the state of Illinois. It was named for Amos K. Ayer, who pledged to give the library $200 a year for ten years for the purchase of books.
In 1992 the library's service area was expanded when the library was reorganized as a district, and became Ayer Public Library District.

The construction of the current library building was partially funded by a grant of $10,000 that was received in 1914 from the Carnegie Foundation.

Ayer Public Library Categories

Other Ayer Public Library Resources

Top 10 Most Popular Landmarks on

  1. World's Largest Santa Claus
  2. Cedar Tree Arch (Rainbow Arch)
  3. Willis Tower (Sears Tower)
  4. Hawaiʻi Volcanoes National Park
  5. Great Lakes
  6. Old North Church
  7. Little Bighorn Battlefield National Monument
  8. Liberty Bell
  9. Abraham Lincoln Tomb
  10. Golden Gate Bridge

Visit our sister site:
Landmark Earth Logo