Landmark: United States Logo

Walt Disney World Resort

Lake Buena Vista, Orange County, Florida

Walt Disney World Resort: Cinderella Castle
Photo: Chris Harrison License: CC BY 2.0
Walt Disney World Resort includes The Magic Kingdom, EPCOT, Disney Hollywood Studios, Disney's Animal Kingdom and 32 resorts and hotels that are located on the Walt Disney World property.

The Magic Kingdom opened on October 1, 1971.

EPCOT Center was opened in 1982, a theme park adapted from Walt Disney's vision for a "community of tomorrow". The park permanently adopted the name Epcot in 1996.

In 1989, the resort added Disney-MGM Studios, a theme park inspired by show business, whose name was changed to Disney's Hollywood Studios in 2008.

The resort's fourth theme park, Disney's Animal Kingdom, opened in 1998.

Walt Disney World Resort Categories

Map of the Area Around
Walt Disney World Resort

Visit our sister site:
Landmark Earth Logo