Landmark: United States Logo

Fort David A. Russell

Cheyenne, Laramie County, Wyoming

Commanding officer's quarters
Photo: License: Public Domain
Fort D. A. Russell, also known as Fort Francis E. Warren, and Francis E. Warren Air Force Base, was a post and base of operations for the United States Army, and later the Air Force.
The fort had been established in 1867 to protect workers for the Union Pacific Railroad. It was named in honor of David Allen Russell, a Civil War general killed at the Battle of Opequon.

In 1930, the fort's name was changed to Fort Francis E. Warren. In 1949, it became Francis E. Warren Air Force Base.

Fort David A. Russell Categories

Other Fort David A. Russell Resources

Map of the Area Around
Fort David A. Russell

Visit our sister site:
Landmark Earth Logo