Landmark: United States Logo

Aurora University

347 S. Gladstone Avenue
Aurora, Illinois, 60506

Aurora University Logo
Photo: License: Copyright
Aurora University is a private university in Aurora, Illinois. Approximately 6,200 students are enrolled in bachelor's, master's, and doctoral degree programs.
Aurora University was founded as Mendota Seminary in Mendota, Illinois, in 1893. At that time, the school was focused on education and training rooted in the Advent Christian Church. Within a few years of its founding, the seminary changed its name to Mendota College, and broadened its programs into a traditional liberal arts curriculum.

In 1911, residents of the nearby town of Aurora raised funds to construct a new college, led by funding from businessman Charles Eckhart, who founded the predecessor company to the Auburn Automobile Company. Recognizing mutual benefits, administrators of Mendota College moved their operations to Aurora and the school became known as Aurora College.

In 1971, Aurora College separated from the Advent Christian Church, and in 1985, changed its name to Aurora University to better reflect the breadth of its academic programs.

Aurora University operates on a semester-based academic year. The school also offers an international- and service-focused “Travel in May” program at the conclusion of the spring semester, as well as summer courses.

Aurora University athletic teams have captured 123 conference championships in school history. Since joining the NCAA in 1982, AU men's and women's teams have won 103 conference championships and appeared in 59 NCAA tournaments.

Aurora University Categories

Other Aurora University Resources

Map of the Area Around
Aurora University

Visit our sister site:
Landmark Earth Logo