Landmark: United States Logo

Landmarks in Montana

C. M. Russell Museum Complex

C. M. Russell Museum Complex
Great Falls, Cascade County, Montana, 59401
The museum's primary function is to display the artwork of Great Falls "cowboy artist" Charles Marion Russell, for whom the museum is named.

Cathedral of Saint Helena

Cathedral of Saint Helena
Helena, Lewis and Clark County County, Montana, 59601
The Columbia Construction Company of New York began construction of the Cathedral in 1908; the cornerstone was laid on October 4 that year.

Glacier National Park

Glacier National Park
Flathead, Montana
To commemorate the long history of peace and friendship between the United States and Canada, the two nations have combined Glacier National Park and Waterton Lakes National Park and created the Waterton/Glacier International Peace Park.

Little Bighorn Battlefield National Monument

Little Bighorn Battlefield National Monument
Crow Agency, Big Horn County, Montana, 59022
This monument is dedicated to the men who died in the battle of the Little Bighorn. It was build in 1881 making it the oldest national monument in the country.

Montana State Capitol

Montana State Capitol
Helena, Lewis and Clark County, Montana, 59601
The building, constructed of Montana sandstone and granite, is in Greek neoclassical architectural style. The exterior of the dome is covered in copper. Atop the dome is a statue of a woman affectionately dubbed "Lady Liberty."

Museum of the Rockies

Museum of the Rockies
Bozeman, Gallatin County, Montana, 59717
The Museum of the Rockies' collections focus on the physical and cultural history of the Rocky Mountains and the people and animals who have lived there.

Pompeys Pillar National Monument

Pompeys Pillar National Monument
Yellowstone County, Montana, 59088
Pompeys Pillar National Monument is a rock formation. The pillar itself stands 150 feet (45 m) above the Yellowstone River and consists of sandstone from the late Cretaceous Hell Creek Formation, 75 - 66 million years ago.

Rosebud Battlefield State Park

Rosebud Battlefield State Park
Half Moon Hill, Big Horn County, Montana
Rosebud Battlefield State Park is the site of the Battle of the Rosebud. The battle, known also as Crook's Fight on the Rosebud or Battle of Rosebud Creek, was fought on June 17, 1876.


Montana State Flag
Postal Code: MT
Capital City: Helena
Became a State: November 8, 1889
Population: 1,032,949*
Area: 147,039.71 miles2 (380,833.23 km2)

* 2015 est. U.S. Census Bureau
Montana State Symbols

Top 10 Most Popular Montana Landmarks

  1. Glacier National Park
  2. Little Bighorn Battlefield National Monument
  3. Montana State Capitol
  4. Museum of the Rockies
  5. Pompeys Pillar National Monument
  6. Cathedral of Saint Helena
  7. C. M. Russell Museum Complex
  8. Whoop-Up Trail Monument
  9. Reno-Benteen Battlefield
  10. Rosebud Battlefield State Park

Visit our sister site:
Landmark Earth Logo