Landmark: United States Logo


Educational institutions such as colleges, universities, conservatories, elementary and high schools.


Barton Academy

Mobile, Mobile County, Alabama, 36602
Barton Academy was the first public school in the state of Alabama. The building was named for Willoughby Barton, an Alabama state legislator from Mobile who introduced an act that created the Board of School Commissioners of Mobile County


California State University, Chico

Chico, Butte County, California, 95929
California State University, Chico is the second-oldest campus in the California State University system. Founded in 1887 as the Northern Branch State Normal School of California, it became part of the state university system in 1972.


Claymont Stone School

Claymont, New Castle County, Delaware, 19703
The Claymont Stone School, also known as Naaman's Creek School #1, is a historic schoolhouse built in 1805. The original building was renovated in 1905 and expanded to become a two room schoolhouse. It was used until 1925.


Duke University

Durham, North Carolina, 27708
Duke University is a private research university founded by Methodists and Quakers in the present-day town of Trinity in 1838. The school moved to Durham in 1892


Little Rock Central High School

Little Rock, Pulaski County, Arkansas
In 1957, nine African-American students, known as the Little Rock Nine, were denied entrance to the school in defiance of the 1954 U.S. Supreme Court ruling ordering integration of public schools.


Mount de Chantal Visitation Academy

Wheeling, Ohio County, West Virginia, 26003
Founded in 1848, Mount de Chantal Visitation Academy is a private Catholic school. Grades seven through twelve are all female and the Montessori and Elementary schools are co-ed. The school has announced that it will cease operations on May 31, 2008.


United States Coast Guard Academy

New London, New London County, Connecticut, 06320
Approximately 250 cadets enter the United States Coast Guard Academy each summer with about 200 cadets graduating. Graduates are commissioned as ensigns, with a Bachelor of Science degree in one of eight majors.


University of Alabama

Tuscaloosa, Tuscaloosa County, Alabama, 35487
Founded in 1831, UA is the flagship school of the University of Alabama System. Its athletic teams are nicknamed the "Crimson Tide" because crimson is one of the school colors. UA is composed of a campus of approximately 1,000 acres (4 km²).


University of Alabama at Birmingham

Birmingham, Jefferson County, Alabama, 35294
UAB began in 1936 as the Birmingham Extension Center of the University of Alabama. Highly renowned for its medical research and natural sciences programs, it is one of the larger research institutions in the Southeast.


University of Alabama in Huntsville (UAH)

Huntsville, Madison County, Alabama, 35899
UAH is renowned for its engineering and science programs, such as astrophysics and atmospheric science. Scientists at UAH managed the first "commercial," non-government rocket programs in the U.S.


University of Delaware

Newark, New Castle County, Delaware, 19716
The main campus of the University of Delaware is in Newark, with satellite campuses in Dover, Wilmington, Lewes, and Georgetown. It is medium-sized - approximately 16,000 undergraduate and 3,500 graduate students.


University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Las Vegas, Clark County, Nevada
Formerly Nevada Southern University, The first classes were held on the current campus on September 10, 1957 in Maude Frazier Hall. The current name was adopted in January, 1969.


Yale University

New Haven, Connecticut, 06520
This famous and prestigious university was founded in 1701 as the Collegiate School. It is the third-oldest institution of higher education in the United States and is a member of the Ivy League.

Top 10 Most Popular Schools Landmarks

  1. Duke University
  2. Claymont Stone School
  3. Yale University
  4. University of Alabama
  5. University of Delaware
  6. California State University, Chico
  7. East Liverpool High School Alumni Clock Tower
  8. Little Rock Central High School
  9. University of Alabama in Huntsville (UAH)
  10. Barton Academy

Visit our sister site:
Landmark Earth Logo